October 22

Yellowstone National Park

Next on our Road Trip we visited Yellowstone National Park. Yellowstone was the first national park in the country, established in 1872. Now, as you probably know it is in the state of Wyoming, but when it was established, Wyoming wasn’t even a state! Theodore Roosevelt was president the time when Yellowstone was named the first national park. At the North Entrance, near Gardener, where we stayed the night, there is an archway called the Roosevelt Arch, that honors Theodore Roosevelt and his accomplishments. Back to Yellowstone, in Lamar Valley, near Gardener, we saw lots of herds of bison, also called buffalo, grazing and roaming freely. We also saw pronghorn, a type of antelope. Did you know that pronghorn are the fastest animal in North America? Yellowstone is one of the coolest places on Earth.  Bison_near_a_hot_spring_in_Yellowstone


Posted October 22, 2015 by owencaba in category Uncategorized

2 thoughts on “Yellowstone National Park

  1. Big Daddy

    Dear Owen – What did you think about the geysers and the hot springs? I remember the smell of the hot springs being very strong, but I kind of got used to it. What did you think about the waterfalls?

    Reply
  2. owencaba (Post author)

    Thank you for your comment BD. I thought that the hot springs looked really cool, because of the color, (turquoise and yellow). The geysers were also cool, especially Old Faithful. I can’t believe that they can blow that high! The smell of the hot springs were really bad, and I had to cover my mouth with my shirt, and for me it really never got better. I thought that the waterfalls were awesome, one of my favorite parts of the trip!

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*